Home » Something For The Weekend » Something For The Weekend: The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

Something For The Weekend: The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower is a romantic 21st century look back at what being a high school student was like in the 1980s. Soundtracked by the mix tape, with adolescent adventures with drugs and sex and love, it is undercut with a vein of tragedy.

Whilst certainly not a realistic look at the past, it goes for an emotional resonance which it just about succeeds in getting, which in turn enables the viewer to overlook some of the flaws and tropes inherent in the work.

The story is enjoyable and the cast are all very good. With a screenplay from and directed by, the author of the book, it feels like an attempt to capture a singular vision and he does succeed.

I did enjoy this, but think had I seen it when I was sixteen or so it would have had an even greater resonance with me. This is very much a film for teenagers which shows films for teenagers don’t have to be loud and stupid.

This is by no means a perfect film, but it is good nonetheless.

2 thoughts on “Something For The Weekend: The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

  1. Good review. I love this movie – actually my favorite of 2012. And I’m very much not a teenager. 😉 I felt I could really identify with the characters and loved that it was set in 1991/92, when I was the same age of those in the film. My only tiny gripe is that, with many young adult books & movies (on the more “intelligent” side of things), they’re always written by people my age & the teenagers are written in a way we WANT to see the teenagers of today or how we saw ourselves as teenagers. Believe me – my friends in high school were NOT as cool or as intelligent or as nice as these characters (nor was I). But if it showed teenagers as they REALLY are, I wouldn’t love this movie so much. Yeah, I liked it a bit more than you did. 😉

    • Yes, it is very much an rose tinted view of the past, but that is integral to the story it is trying to tell.

      There were quite a few flaws in the movie, but I was enjoying it sufficiently that I didn’t really care or focus on them. That suggests it is doing what it wants to do well.

Leave a Reply

