Home » Writing » Writing For The Hell Of It

Writing For The Hell Of It

Writing

I have been struggling a lot recently with trying to get something, anything, written.

To that end, I have started a small project with no pressure to, or even much intention of, finishing.

When I read yet another story about Ghostbusters 3 I got to thinking about what I would like to see in it. Ideally, I would like it set about 20 years ago so the original characters could actually be in it.

Whilst I could have written something about that I decided to start a project set in the modern day. Essentially I am writing some fan-fiction, but in script format.

I have been working on it for a few days and so far it has been very helpful to motivate me to think of ideas and potential plot lines and, though the story isn’t fully developed, to have practiced writing a few scenes.

I have basically decided that it is better to write a something rather than stressing about completing a project and ending up writing nothing.

There is no pressure, no fuss and it has reinvigorated my enjoyment of writing.

Leave a Reply

