Home » Music » Song Review: Transplants: In A War Zone

Song Review: Transplants: In A War Zone

In A Warzone

A while ago I wrote about albums which are delayed for many years and whether or not they can fulfil expectations. More specifically, I wrote about the then already delayed third album from punk supergroup, Transplants. (Yo can read it here.)

Having last released an album in 2005 and having been working on their next album since 2010, I was starting to doubt whether it would be any good. Most of this derived from the brilliance of the first two records and the expectations that had been building since I heard about them getting back together.

I had even gone so far as to say I did not want to hear the new record. This was back in November. In January the band tweeted that the album was due for a May release. At the time I was sceptical. This was not the first time they had mentioned a release date. Now I feel more secure it will actually happen.

They have announced they will support Rancid on tour. This is amazing, not only because both bands are amazing, but Tim Armstrong is the lead songwriter/singer for both bands. He is essentially supporting himself on tour. How amazing is that?!

Furthermore, they have released track of the album, which can be downloaded for free here.

At first, I was hesitant to listen but my curiosity got the better of me, so I listened to it. Then I listened again. And again. And again.

It is entitled In A War Zone, which might be the title of the new album. It features rolling drums from Blink 182 drummer Travis Barker, a shout along chorus and trademark Rancid guitar slide. Skinhead Rob keeps his rhymes simple, alluding to his war zone is violence on the streets, whilst Tim Armstrong conjures up images of military death and destruction that are a Transplants and Rancid staple.

The song ends with an instrumental break as a recording of former UK Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain’s address to the nation declaring the start of World War Two.

It is a great song and I honestly can’t recall the last time I was this excited for a new album based on the first track of it.

Leave a Reply

