Home » Movie » Wes Anderson Update: Moonrise Kingdom

Wes Anderson Update: Moonrise Kingdom

Moonrise Kingdom

Following on from this piece, it makes sense to write some thoughts on the latest Wes Anderson film Moonrise Kingdom

Despite this being on my list of films to watch due to its nomination for an Academy Award (Best Original Screenplay), I have been reticent to do so. Nevertheless, I finally bit the bullet and watched what was essentially an heart-warming story of young love.

It was absolutely insufferable.

True, I didn’t hate it. In fact, I quite liked it, as far as Wes Anderson films go. He is clearly a very talented filmmaker, which makes it even more of a shame that I can’t stand his films.

The perfectly precise colours and quirky sets, the angular acting and the obtuse script, all of them come together to form a relentless barrage of irritation. All I wanted throughout the film was for it to be over.

There is a great cast in it, all of whom do well and the young protagonists were very impressive. Yet it was still a Wes Anderson film, still too much of a try-hard to actually make any connection to the characters or to make them in any way real.

What is perhaps most frustrating is that if Wes Anderson made a film that stripped away all his quirks and made a straight up, emotionally honest film I think I would really like it. He can tell a story and he has a great talent, it’s just everything he does with it gets under my skin in the worst possible way.

This means I am in no position to judge whether or not Moonrise Kingdom is a better film than the others (though it certainly better than The Darjeeling Limited), though if you liked the rest of his stuff you will probably love this. Even if you don’t, you’ll probably never get another chance to see Bruce Willis, Bill Murray, Edward Norton and Harvey Keitel (not to mention the host of other big names) in the same film.

2 thoughts on “Wes Anderson Update: Moonrise Kingdom

  1. I can see where you are coming from on this one, and the other Wes Anderson films for that matter, but I am a fan because of the way the films are (except The darjeeling limited).
    I loved this film for its quirky nature, the way every scene was set up like a painting and the way it was filmed.
    Nicely argued points.

Leave a Reply

