Home » Confessions » Confession: Wes Anderson Movies

Confession: Wes Anderson Movies

Wes Anderson Movies

Forgive me readers for I have sinned. It has been 8 weeks since my last confession. This one is probably my biggest.

I do not like Wes Anderson movies.

  • Rushmore? Nope.
  • The Royal Tenenbaums? No.
  • The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou? Nearly, but no.
  • The Darjeeling Limited? Certainly not.

It needs to be said that this is not one of those times where you dislike the director and his work and everything is fine and dandy. No, because like Louie C.K. (who also has an article, here) I have a lot of respect for Wes Anderson.

I think his work is interesting, it looks great in very unique way and he gets very unusual performances from his actors. But it irritates me and I don’t know why.

Everything about his films are unsettling and emotionally distant. I understand that is somewhat the point, but that does not help the fact that watching them is an unpleasant experience.

The scripts are full of quirks that just hold no interest and seem to drag on forever to very little end. The same of the direction. It’s very difficult to actually care about any of the characters whatsoever, or what happens to them and they don’t seem particularly bothered themselves.

This certainly isn’t helped by the fact that he uses a lot of actors whom I have very little patience for. It’s not that I think they are bad actors or people, but there is only so much time I can watch any of the Wilson brothers (whether it be Owen, Luke or Andrew). But then there’s Bill Murray who is one of my absolute favourite things of all time ever. Even he can’t bring me to care about the characters. He got close in The Life Aquatic, which was a really interesting film (in theory, though not to actually watch) but in the end I was just glad it was over.

Seeing the trailer for his latest movie Moonrise Kingdom I was really enthused until I realised it was a Wes Anderson film, at which point all life seemed to drain out of me. I really want to enjoy it, but I can’t bring myself to watch. It’s had great reviews from everywhere, even from people who don’t normally go in for this kind of thing. The cast is great. Bruce Willis, Edward Norton (one of my absolute favourite actors), Bill Murray, Frances McDormand and a whole host of crazily talented actors.

It seems like the Wes Anderson film for people who don’t like Wes Anderson, which is part of the reason I don’t want to watch it. If it is rubbish then it is another disappointment and a greater sense of shame emerges for not liking any of his works. If it is good then the shame increases on not like his back catalogue.

Either way, there is no way of getting around it.

I do not like Wes Anderson movies.

3 thoughts on “Confession: Wes Anderson Movies

  1. I feel exactly the same about evry other Wes Anderson film I’ve seen but Moonrise Kingdom is an exception. Its the great cast rather than the writing and directing though.

  2. Pingback: Wes Anderson Update: Moonrise Kingdom « Sedated Tabloid Reader

Leave a Reply

