Home » Comedy » Behind The Times: New Girl – Season One

Behind The Times: New Girl – Season One

New Girl

Having gotten completely up to date with It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia, I was at a bit of a loss as to what to watch next.

Going through the list provided by a friend, there was nothing particularly appealing so picking one pretty much at random I am now watching New Girl.

The plot is very simple. Jess (played by the gorgeous poster-girl for hipsters everywhere, Zooey Deschanel) breaks up with her long-term boyfriend and moves in with three strange guys after answering an ad she found on the internet.

After a few episodes, my initial thoughts are that it is a nice enough sitcom, though I can’t ever see it breaking any boundaries. It is basically some people living together, with a kooky lifestyle and an apartment that they could never actually afford.

It can be very funny in places, but not consistently so. Whilst there don’t appear to be any jokes that really fall flat, it is very much predicated on the philosophy of hipsterism.

If you don’t like hipsters, this is not the show for you.

There are a couple of issues.

Firstly, which is just a personal gripe, they changed one of the characters for a similar, but different, character after the first episode. This means the second episode is like a new pilot episode and it is all a bit irritating as I liked the first guy and I do not like change.

Secondly, I find it impossible to believe that Zooey Deschanel would have any trouble convincing anyone to do anything for her. So therefore, any issues she has with people just do not seem believable to my mind.

Thirdly, because Zooey Deschanel is stupidly hot, they try to make her seem more ordinary and pathetic by making her best friend a sensible, well-adjusted model. As if such a thing exists!

Fourthly, the theme tune is really irritating.

But those are niggly little things that I suspect will fade after a few episodes more.

Rating this in comparison to other sitcoms, this is one of the broadest shows I have watched in a while. It is light and bubbly and completely unrepresentative of what living in New York is like, so it is kind of like Friends for the 21st century, though not as good. And not all the characters are white, so it is slightly more representative.

I think this is something I would have enjoyed a lot more were I younger, before my hopes and dreams were shattered on the cruel, jagged rocks of reality’s shore.

So yes, I am going to keep watching and expect it, like Go On, to grow on me.

Update: Episode 4 of season 1 is fantastic. I don’t know if it is a fluke, but it gives me a great deal of hope for the rest of the season, as long as they keep the surrealist elements together.

2 thoughts on “Behind The Times: New Girl – Season One

  1. Zooey Deschanel is a beauty, but beauty is a dime a dozen in Hollywood. Besides her looks she doesn’t bring much to the table. Maybe she will earn her acting chops down the line, but for now she is just another beautiful actress.

    • I suppose it all depends if you like her kooky hipster schtick, which I definitely do.

      I don’t think she a bad actress, though she does tend to do only comedy which (in my opinion) is unfairly looked down up in comparison to drama.

      But regardless, I think the show is very, very funny and I am genuinely amazed at just how strong the American TV comedy genre is at the moment.

Leave a Reply

