Home » Confessions » Breaking Bad TV Habits: An Inability to Watch Great Television

Breaking Bad TV Habits: An Inability to Watch Great Television

I have a problem. I don’t know why, but I find it almost impossible to watch TV shows that don’t stick to the tried (or should that be tired?) and tested “plot of the week” structure. What this means in reality is that I cannot become absorbed into some of the best TV shows ever made.

Some of my friends rave about the brilliance of Breaking Bad and whilst I was intrigued by the novelistic feel of the first series, by the start of the third series I was bored of ploughing through it and getting so little out of it. It felt like an obligation and eventually I had to say enough. True, it is brilliantly written and acted and directed but it isn’t for me.

Neither is The Walking Dead, which some of my other friends are into but after four episodes I can’t connect with that either. It does not grab me, despite being a big fan of zombies, so much so that if I were an American I would have voted for Mitt Romney to bring about the zombie apocalypse promised by Joss Whedon.

“But what of the genius of Mad Men?” I hear you cry.

I lasted four episodes.

I have stopped watching all of these shows, but to my shame I still feel compelled to watch such turkeys as How I Met Your Mother and the increasingly poor The Big Bang Theory.

These dramas are intricate stories with cliffhangers and all sorts and I struggle to understand why they have no appeal at all. Yet weirdly, of all the shows I love to watch, my favourite episodes are the ones which deviate from the “plot of the week” format and focus on the character arcs that run over several series.

I feel like I’m missing out on some kind of television revolution. Is it just me, or does anyone else struggle to connect with a massive genre of quality TV?

Leave a Reply

